Annual Group Meeting of AICRP on Sugarcane

21-22 October 2021

Annual Group Meeting of All India Coordinated Research Project on Sugarcane was organized at the ICAR-IISR, Lucknow through hybrid mode (physical and virtual mode) during 21st to 22nd October 2021.

Dr T R Sharma, Deputy Director General (Crop Science) in his inaugural address stressed upon the need of pre-breeding work in the varietal development programme. He also emphasized that the climate resilient varieties with respect to biotic and abiotic stress conditions for different sugarcane growing zones should be taken up on priority.

Annual Group Meeting of AICRP on Sugarcane  Annual Group Meeting of AICRP on Sugarcane

Dr A D Pathak, Director and Project Coordinator, ICAR- Indian Institute of Sugarcane, Lucknow, in his welcome address presented the achievements of AICRP on Sugarcane during 2020-21.

Dr S Solomon, Ex-Vice-Chancellor, CSAUAT, Kanpur, Dr R K Singh, ADG (CC) and Dr G Hemaprabha, Director, ICAR-SBI, Coimbatore also addressed the participating scientists.

Annual Group Meeting of AICRP on Sugarcane

About 150 participants' including sugarcane scientists working at 22 regular and 17 voluntary sugarcane research centers located at five sugarcane growing zones in different states viz., Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Gujarat, Haryana, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Uttarakhand attended the Group Meet.

During the two-day Group Meet, research progress was reviewed and technical programme of crop improvement, crop production, plant pathology and entomology were finalized for next crop season after critical discussion and suggestions of the PAMC members.

Five sugarcane varieties viz.,Co 14012 (mid-late) for peninsular zone, CoLk 15201 (Early) and CoLk 15207 (mid-late) for north west zone, CoLk 15466 (early) and CoP 11438 (early) for north central and north east zone were identified by the Varietal Identification Committee Meeting under Chairmanship of Dr T R Sharma, DDG (CS), ICAR, New Delhi.

(Source; Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Lucknow)